Thursday, August 19, 2010

Jimmy Gilmer and the Fireballs - Sugar Shack (1963)

On request, two nice 1963 albums from the Fireballs. The first one, 'Torquay,' was in line with several very good more early instrumental platters from the group. 'Sugar Shack' was titled to the first million seller for Gilmer, and credited as 'Jimmy Gilmer and the Fireballs.' The title song was written in 1962 by Keith McCormack and Faye Voss. Gilmer, then aged 23, came from Amarillo, Texas, and began singing as a youngster in La Grange, IIIinois. In 1951 he moved with his family to Amarillo where he studied the piano for four years at the Musical Arts Conservatory. In 1957, he organized his own rock 'n' roll band, playing for schools and other teenage functions. While attending Amarillo College (for an engineering degree), he continued to perform.

Jimmy Gilmer, born in Chicago, 1939, met the Fireballs (Stan Lark, Eric Budd and George Pomsco) at Norman Petty's recording studios in Clovis, New Mexico. The Fireballs had already some success on disc, and Jimmy teamed up with them as singer and rhythm guitarist. Their first hit was "Quite a Party" (#27 in 1961). Then came "Sugar Shack", and subsequent tours of Canada and Europe. The disc was #1 for five weeks in the U.S.A., with 15 weeks in Billboard hot 100; #45 in Britain and eight weeks in the bestsellers, and a top rhythm-and blues seller. It was also a huge hit in many other countries all over the world. The Fireballs, sans Gilmer, made one last unexpected comeback in 1968, when their "Bottle of Wine" (featuring vocals by the group themselves) made the Top Ten.

1963 LP Torquay (US Dot DLP-25512)

01. Fireballs - Torquay
02. Fireballs - Alone
03. Fireballs - Joey's Song
04. Fireballs - Last Date
05. Fireballs - Chief Whoopin`Koff
06. Fireballs - El Ringo
07. Fireballs - Wheels
08. Fireballs - Honey
09. Fireballs - Rawhide
10. Fireballs - Tuff-A-Nuff
11. Fireballs - Dumbo
12. Fireballs - Quite A Party

If you want to listen to the music... Look up in the right column.
Als je naar de muziek wilt luisteren... Kijk boven in de rechter kolom.

1963 LP Sugar Shack (US DOT DLP-25545)

01. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Sugar Shack
02. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Let's Talk
03. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Linda Lu
04. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Lonesome Tears
05. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Let The Good Times Roll
06. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Red Cadillac And A Black Mustache
07. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Won't Be Long
08. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Little Baby
09. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - I Wonder Why
10. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Suzie Q
11. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Pretend
12. Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs - Almost Eighteen

If you want to listen to the music... Look up in the right column.
Als je naar de muziek wilt luisteren... Kijk boven in de rechter kolom.

1 berichten:

ada said...

Great collection, man.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...